11

Evonne The Turbodiesel After One Year

She's a lot quicker and starting to look a lot better, too!
11
Transcript

No transcript...

I purchased Evonne as a project vehicle a year ago. In this video, I wrap up 2023 by sharing the car's current condition and performance level.

My tuning was done by Drew, a real genius, at Mid-Tennessee Diesel +1-615-601-1728, eurodieseltuning@gmail.com . He’s the real brain behind some breakthrough tunes out there on the OM648, having broken the code on how to get the most out of this engine without damaging it.

Based on the performance in this video, I’m seeing 0-60 in 6.6 seconds. Online calculators will estimate this (with a 4,000 lb curb weight) at 280 hp at the flywheel. This corresponds to roughly 470 lb-ft of torque, and I can confirm that the car is very responsive and fun to drive.

I can’t say what my actual fuel economy is, though, as I haven’t had a chance to do any highway trips where the car can settle in at a given speed. Stock, these cars deliver about 37 mpg, so I’m expecting that this car can get 40+ mpg. Everything that has been done to it should improve its efficiency (provided I can lay off the fuel pedal).

A couple quick notes on the gauges:

  1. Because I've done data logging, I know that the boost gauge understates boost by 3-4 psi.

  1. You will see max temps around 1600 F, which is acceptable in this type of application where it is only momentary. In big diesel trucks that may be towing heavy loads up mountain passes, the acceptable EGTs are typically lower.

I hope this video gives a good fee for how Evonne looks and drives today. There's still more work to be done, but the performance is mostly where it's going to be.

Subscribe to our Substack for FREE, where all of our videos will be posted and the most detailed information will be shared on our projects. We have a forum where we can exchange technical information.

I haven’t posted in a while, as I’ve had to pursue other things to take care of my family (including my first grandchild!). Please consider becoming a paid subscriber. If I can get some people willing to commit, I can prioritize these efforts, justifying more time and effort on this Substack.

You can get a cap like the one I’m wearing by visiting the Art of Diesel’s swag store: https://artofdieselswag.etsy.com/

Intro and outro music is "Hard Feelings" by XEFSketch. Music in the beginning sequence is "Compromise," also by XEFSketch. All music is used with the artist's permission. See the rest of their content at: https://soundcloud.com/insane-sketch

—Mark-A-Billy

Share

11 Comments
The Art of Diesel
The Art of Diesel
Authors
Mark-A-Billy